Adelaide’s Cape

Adelaide's Cape at The Hope, Brighton 20/02/10

The Hope is far from my favourite venue in Brighton, but it sometimes has some really lovely shows. Tonight it was Adelaide’s Cape, Rachael Dadd and Laish. Rachael Dadd was meant to be the headliner, but she had to catch an early train home, so the Laish Quartet stepped in as the main act. To be honest, any of the three acts could have headlined the show. They were all great.
I would recommend any of these bands to you.
Laish are local to Brighton, Danny & friends always give a great performance.
Rachael Dadd was utterly charming. Sweet and goofy, she did a couple of songs without amplification, which wins bonus points from me.
Sam (Adelaide’s Cape) is based in my old home town of Norwich. He played a blinding set, finishing off with an accomplished cover of ‘Black Eyed Dog’ by Nick Drake.

This was a good night that reminds me how great live music is.

Leave a comment